A 2Short.ai review, written by a direct competitor

Whether you typed "2short" or "2short ai," this is the same product. What it does, what its unit actually meters, the four things it does that we do not, and who each one suits — written by a rival and disclosed as one.

Who wrote this

A direct competitor — not an adjacent one, the same job

InTheClips turns long recordings into short clips, which is exactly what 2Short.ai is built to do. This is not a review from a tool that happens to do the other half of the work; it is a review from a rival, and that is a reason to read it sceptically rather than a reason to close it.

There is no affiliate link on this page and no tracked link. Nothing on it earns us anything whichever way you go. What is written about 2Short.ai elsewhere online is, as far as we could tell, mostly other clipping tools publishing their own comparison pages about it — the same kind of page this is. We have not counted how much of it that is, and we are not going to claim a figure we cannot support.

Everything said below about their product is structural — what it is, what it meters, what it connects to — and was read from their own public pages on 22 August 2026. The section on where they are ahead of us comes before any argument for us, because on a page like this it is the only part that shows the rest was written honestly.

What it is

2Short.ai turns a YouTube link into finished vertical clips

"2short," "2short ai" and "2Short.ai" are all the same product. Their own homepage describes it as a tool that will "extract the best moments of your videos and turn them into performing short clips" for YouTube Shorts, TikTok and Instagram Reels. You paste a video link, the moments get picked automatically, and clips come back reframed and captioned by 2Short.ai.

Getting a video in starts the same way it does here — a link. Their own getting-started page says to "copy your video link from YouTube and paste it into the 2short app." That is one of our two ways in as well, so the paste box itself is not the difference between the two products; what each side does with the video after that is.

From their Lite plan up, the address does not have to be YouTube. Their pricing page lists "video imports from Google Drive and public URLs" as a feature that starts at the Lite tier. Nothing on any page we read describes uploading a file straight from a device — every route in is still an address of some kind. Ours is the other way round: a YouTube address, or a file uploaded from your machine, and no third option.

Underneath the intake, it produces finished clips rather than a list to choose from. The Starter plan is described on their pricing page as letting you "view and export already generated short clips" — the sifting happens before you see anything, and what surfaces first is the finished file, reframed, captioned and ready to export.

Read 22 Aug 2026
Four things it does that we do not do at all

This is the competitor closest to us in intent, so the list of what it does better is the one worth reading twice — and none of these four is on our roadmap today.

It puts your logo on the export

Their features page describes "brand presets" that "add brand logos and overlays to your exported videos." We have no logo layer and no brand templates at all — a mark on a clip means adding it yourself afterwards, in your own editor. If a consistent logo on every short is part of your workflow, that is a real reason to prefer theirs.

It tracks the speaker regardless of shape

Their "center stage facial tracking" reframes continuously to keep whoever is talking in the middle of the frame, and nothing on their pages ties it to one particular layout — it reads as a property of the clip, not of a shape. We do the same thing, frame by frame, on our two default shapes, Full 9:16 and Boxed 1:1, where the frame follows whoever is talking too. Cam bubble and face over screen are a different feature entirely: they composite an actual camera over the screen, which only exists where our shape watcher finds one in the source, and "the whole picture" shape is left alone by design, with no reframing at all. Land on one of those three and the tracking that runs on our defaults does not follow you there.

It reads video from more places than a link or an upload

From the Lite tier up, their own site lists Google Drive files and other public URLs as valid sources, alongside a YouTube link on every plan. Ours takes a YouTube address (youtube.com or youtu.be — watch pages, Shorts, live and embed) or a file you upload yourself, up to 8 GB, and nothing else. A recording that only exists in a shared Drive folder is a real case theirs covers and ours does not.

Its free allowance comes back every month

Their pricing page phrases the free Starter plan in the same "per month" terms as the three paid tiers above it, which reads as a renewing monthly allowance of analysis minutes rather than a single grant — their pricing page has the current figure. Ours is thirty minutes of source, given once, with no card — and it does not come back. For anyone who wants to keep testing across several weeks before paying, theirs is the better shape of trial.

Who it fits, plainly

Three descriptions. If one of them is you, the rest of this page is background rather than a recommendation.

You want the logo already on it

A brand mark that lands on every export without you placing it yourself, in a tool where that is a built-in preset rather than a step you add afterwards.

Your footage already lives at a URL

A Google Drive file or another public address, not a download sitting on your own machine and not necessarily YouTube. Handing over an address instead of a file is worth more than it sounds once it is a weekly habit.

You want a free tier that keeps coming back

Thirty minutes a month, indefinitely, beats thirty minutes once if what you are doing is testing on and off over a stretch of weeks rather than deciding in one sitting.

What it charges for

The unit is hours of video "analyzing," and exporting is metered separately on their cheapest paid tier

Their plans are priced in hours of AI video analyzing per month, on the free plan and the paid ones alike. A search for 2short ai pricing wants a number, and the number is theirs to publish: it is on their own pricing page, it moves, and this site does not copy a competitor’s prices, because one transcribed here is wrong the day they change it. The unit is what you can plan against — hours of recording read, not clips produced.

What is worth checking is that a second allowance sits beside it. Their Lite tier lists a separate, smaller monthly allowance of fast server-side export minutes apart from the analysing hours, and only the tiers above it call exports unlimited. So on the cheapest paid plan, re-exporting a clip several times — after a caption fix, say — may be spending that second allowance rather than the main one. That is a one-line question worth putting to them before you subscribe.

Ours is one balance, not two, and that is for contrast rather than for credit. InTheClips meters credits — one balance spent on both halves of the job: minutes of source analysed, and exports once a plan’s included rendered clips run out. Starter is 240 credits a month at $19 (4 hours of video, 80 rendered clips included, then 3 credits each), Creator is 660 at $49 (11 hours, 220 rendered clips), Studio is 1,620 at $99 (27 hours, 540 rendered clips), and a year costs eight months. Where their Lite tier runs two allowances that empty independently, one balance here bounds the whole job by construction.

Where the two products differ in shape

Included because you are on our site and it would be odd to pretend otherwise. Sentences rather than ticks, and a difference of shape rather than a scoreboard.

What differsInTheClips2Short.ai
What arrives firstA ranked list of candidates — four pillar scores, timecodes and the sentences each was drawn from. Nothing is rendered until you approve it.Clips already generated, reframed and captioned, described on their own pricing page as ready to view and export.
What you are shown about each clipHook, flow, value and travel scored separately beside the transcript they came from, plus a cold-read pass that flags a cut you cannot follow without context and caps its score rather than hiding it.Nothing scored on any page we read. The clip itself, ready to watch, is what stands in for a ranking.
What is meteredCredits — one balance for minutes analysed and, past the plan’s included rendered clips, for exports: three credits each once those run out.Hours of "AI video analyzing" a month, plus a separate, smaller allowance of fast server-side exports on their cheapest paid tier.
Ways inA YouTube address (watch, Short, live or embed) or a file you upload up to 8 GB. You confirm the video is yours to use before an import starts, and link imports are capped by the day; uploads are not.A YouTube link on every plan, plus a Google Drive file or another public address from their Lite tier up. Nothing on their pages describes uploading a file from your device.
Reframing and brandingTwo of five output shapes composite a camera over the picture, and only where our shape watcher finds one. Captions are editable in font, size, colour, outline, shadow and caps, saved as named styles, but the block sits in a fixed position — no free placement, no logo layer.Continuous "center stage" facial tracking on every clip, and brand presets that add a logo or overlay to the export.
Getting the clip outA publishing calendar can hold a date and mark a clip published, but nothing connects to a platform — no account of yours is linked to InTheClips, and posting stays yours to do.No publishing or scheduling appears on any of their pages either. Their road ends at an exported file too.
The free planThirty minutes of source, granted once, no card, and it does not come back. Its exports carry a small mark; the paid plans do not.Phrased in the same "per month" terms as the paid tiers by their own pricing page — which reads as a renewing monthly allowance of analysis time rather than a one-off grant. Whether a free export carries a mark is not stated on their pages either way.

Read from 2short.ai’s own public pages on 22 August 2026. Anything that has changed since is theirs to state and not ours to guess at — check the rows that matter to you before you pay for either. Their column is from 2Short.ai’s own public description of the product, read on ; ours is from the code that runs this one.

Before subscribing to anything here

Four questions, and they are about this whole category

Not about one product. Every one of them can be answered before the first charge rather than after the second, and every one of them applies to us as well.

Work out what the unit buys you

Hours "analyzed," a separate export allowance, minutes of source and clip counts are four different units, and two tools quoting the same figure are usually not measuring the same thing. Convert whichever it is into hours of your own footage before you compare anything.

Ask whether the free plan renews or is a single grant

Their pricing page lists the free tier in the same "per month" phrasing as the three paid ones above it, which reads as recurring — but the page never says so in as many words. One line from their support settles it before you plan around it.

Ask what a second export costs

Where the cheapest paid tier separates "fast" exports from the analysing hours, redoing a caption fix is not obviously free. Whether it draws on the smaller allowance is a one-line answer that changes the arithmetic more than the headline rate does.

Read what independent reviewers actually say — there is not much yet

Capterra listed the product with zero reviews as of 22 August 2026, and at that point neither G2 nor Trustpilot gave us enough to summarise responsibly either. Most of what a search turns up is other clipping tools writing their own comparison pages about it, the way this one is. That is a snapshot of the date above, not a permanent property of the product, and it could look different by the time you read this.

Questions

What this search is usually standing in for.

Is "2short" the same as "2short ai"?

Yes. 2Short.ai is the product’s name; "2short" and "2short ai" are simply the two ways people type it into a search box, and both describe the same tool — paste a video link and get short clips back.

What is 2Short.ai?

An AI clipper: a YouTube link (or, from their Lite plan up, a Google Drive file or another public address) goes in, and finished vertical clips come back — reframed with continuous face-centring, captioned, and a logo added if you have set up a brand preset. It supports a wide range of caption languages by their own count (their features page lists the current ones) and does not, on any page we read, publish or schedule anything to a social account.

Is 2short ai free actually usable?

Their pricing page phrases the Starter plan the same "per month" way as the three paid tiers, which reads as an allowance that comes back each month rather than a one-off grant, though the page does not say so outright — check their pricing page for the current minutes. Whether it requires a card, or marks a free export, is not stated either way on their site. Ours gives thirty minutes of source once, with no card, and it does not renew; our trial exports carry a small mark and our paid plans do not.

What does 2short ai pricing look like?

Four tiers — Starter, Lite, Pro and Premium — priced in hours of video "analyzing" a month, with the cheapest paid tier also listing a separate, smaller allowance of fast server-side exports. This site does not copy a competitor’s prices, because a number written here is wrong the day they change it; their own pricing page is where the figures live.

Where do I find the 2short ai login?

On 2short.ai itself — their navigation carries a Sign in link. We are a competitor with no visibility into their accounts, so if a sign-in fails, their own support is the only place that can help, and this page has no login of theirs to send you to.

Does 2short.ai post clips to TikTok or Instagram for me?

Nothing on their homepage, features page, FAQ or about page describes publishing or scheduling to a social account, as of 22 August 2026. Ours does not either: a publishing calendar can mark a clip as published on a given date, but nothing connects to a platform, and posting is yours to do either way.

Is this review biased?

Yes, and it says so at the top rather than in a footer. This is a direct competitor rather than an adjacent one, which makes this the version of the page most worth distrusting. Use the structural claims — what it meters, what it connects to, what it accepts — because most of them are checkable on their own site in about two minutes. Distrust every adjective, ours first.

One recording through both free tiers answers this better than any review